Revolutionary Poet Samih al-Qasim Dies at 75

I don’t like you, death
But I’m not afraid of you
And I know that my body is your bed
And my spirit is your bed cover
I know that your banks are narrow for me
I don’t love you, death
But I’m not afraid of you.

 

“Travel Tickets,” trans. A.Z. Foreman:

The day I’m killed,
my killer, rifling through my pockets,
will find travel tickets:
One to peace,
one to the fields and the rain,
and one to the conscience of humankind.
Dear killer of mine, I beg you:
Do not stay and waste them.
Take them, use them.
I beg you to travel.

 

From Arabic Literature:

Beloved Palestinian Poet Samih al-Qasim Dies at 75.

 

Language & the Revolution in the Middle East:

http://www.middleeasteye.net/essays/samih-al-qasim-and-language-revolution-1095441705

 

Samih al-Qasim Playing:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lIqYstKZWI4#t=69

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

